F185. Audio Drama and Podcasting: The Future is Now 2.0

Room 102A, Washington Convention Center, Level One
Friday, February 10, 2017
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


At AWP LA, this panel had standing room only. The audio dramatic writing landscape has been transformed in the last decade by the exponential growth of podcasting. Audiences are no longer locked in the traditional appointment-listening model, but can tune in when they want. As in LA, professional writers and producers will further discuss the craft of writing for this unique medium of the imagination. Learn how to engage audiences in our saturated media universe. Come early if you want a seat.



Bryan Wade is a playwright, radio dramatist, and novelist. Numerous stage plays have been produced nationally; radio dramas broadcast on CBC in Canada and on ABC in Australia. He edited his most recent book, Brave New Play Rites, a short play anthology. He teaches in University of British Columbia’s creative writing program.

Lance Dann is a multi–award–winning writer, radio producer, sound designer, and academic who was founder of the Radio Art group Noiseless Blackboard Eraser, an associate member of the New York theatre company The Wooster Group, and commissioning editor at radio arts station Resonance 104.4FM (London).

Frederick Greenhalgh has brought location-recording techniques from his indie film background to the production of audio drama. His award-winning shows have been featured in the Wall Street Journal, the Guardian, BBC Radio 4, NPR, and numerous regional publications.

Ann Heppermann is the founder of the Sarah Lawrence College International Audio Fiction Awards, aka the Sarah Awards, which celebrates and rewards audio drama for the 21st century. She also cohosts the podcast Serendipity featuring contemporary radio dramas from around the world and airs on KCRW.

Kc Wayland is the author of We're Alive, the serial audio drama, which has garnered over forty-eight million downloads and received numerous awards including "Best of iTunes" in 2012 and nominated for "Best Audio Drama" by the Audio Publishers Association.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center