R196. A 25th Anniversary Reading by CGU's Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award Winners

Room 206, Washington Convention Center, Level Two
Thursday, February 9, 2017
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


Claremont Graduate University’s Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award is one of the most prestigious prizes a contemporary poet can receive. The Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award was created in 1993 to both honor a poet and provide resources to allow literary artists to continue honing their craft. These past recipients of the Kingsley Tufts Awards showcase the breadth and depth, as well as geographic and aesthetic diversity, of the poetry that CGU’s Tufts Awards supports and celebrates.


Lori Anne Ferrell is director of the Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards and professor of early modern literature and history at Claremont Graduate University Claremont, California.

Susan Mitchell has authored three books of poems, including Rapture which won the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award, and she was a National Book Award finalist. Her poems have earned fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the Lannan Foundation.

Carl Phillips is the author of thirteen books of poetry, most recently Reconnaissance. His book of essays is The Art of Daring: Risk, Restlessness, Imagination. Phillips is professor of English at Washington University in St. Louis.

Marianne Boruch's most recent poetry collections include Cadaver, Speak and The Book of Hours, plus her forthcoming Eventually One Dreams the Real Thing. She's written a memoir, The Glimpse Traveler, and two essay collections. She teaches at Purdue and in Warren Wilson College's MFA program.

Angie Estes's five books of poetry include Enchantée, winner of the Kingsley Tufts Award, and Tryst, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Her awards include a Pushcart Prize, an NEA Fellowship in Poetry, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Alice Fay di Castagnola Prize from the Poetry Society of America.


March 7–10, 2018
Tampa, FL

Tampa Convention Center & Marriott Tampa Waterside