R122. Demystifying the Market: Multiple Paths to the First Book

Room 503, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Thursday, March 31, 2016
9:00 am to 10:15 am


In a dizzying poetry marketplace, how do writers determine where to submit? Authors of books from Copper Canyon, Milkweed, Alice James, the Akron Series of Poetry, and the University of New Mexico discuss the three main avenues open to first-book poets: contests, open reading periods, and solicitation from presses. Drawing on a range of personal experience, they talk candidly about the merits of each option, offering advice on manuscript submission, the revision process, and promotion.



Casey Thayer is the author of Self-Portrait with Spurs and Sulfur. A Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, he has published poetry in American Poetry Review, the Normal School, North American Review, Poetry, and elsewhere.

Nancy Reddy is the author of Double Jinx, winner of the 2014 National Poetry Series. Her work has most recently appeared in Tupelo Quarterly32 Poems, and Smartish Pace. She is a doctoral candidate in composition and rhetoric at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she also earned her MFA.

Brittany Cavallaro is the author of poetry collection Girl-King and the forthcoming YA novel A Study in Charlotte. She has received fellowships from the NEA and the Vermont Studio Center and scholarships from the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. Currently, she is a PhD candidate at UW-Milwaukee.

Richie Hofmann is the author of Second Empire, winner of the Beatrice Hawley Award, and a recipient of a Ruth Lilly Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation. His poems appear in the New Yorker, Poetry, Ploughshares, and other magazines. He is a doctoral candidate at Emory University.

Malachi Black is the author of Storm Toward Morning, a finalist for the Poetry Society of America's Norma Farber First Book Award and a PSA New American Poets series selection. The recipient of a number of fellowships and awards, Black teaches at the University of San Diego.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center