R256. Writer as Editor/Editor as Writer

Room 502 B, LA Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Thursday, March 31, 2016
3:00 pm to 4:15 pm


Prominent writer-editors talk about the challenges of wearing two very different hats. How does editing other writers’ work help or hinder their own writing? How do these writers turn off their editorial brain to let their creativity flow without letting in unhelpful self-criticism? What do editors learn from being edited themselves? The panel shares wisdom gleaned from being on both sides of the creative process.



Rob Spillman is editor and cofounder of Tin House. He is the 2015 recipient of the PEN/Nora Magid Award for Editing and is currently a lecturer at Columbia University. His memoir, All Tomorrow’s Parties, is forthcoming.

Jill Bialosky’s collections of poems are Subterranean and The End of Desire. Also a memoirist, she is author of the novels House Under Snow and The Life Room, and coeditor of the anthology Wanting a Child. Her poems and essays appear in the New Yorker, O magazine, Paris Review, the Nation, the New Republic, Kenyon Review, and American Poetry Review. She has received a number of awards including the Elliot Coleman Award in Poetry and works as an editor at W.W. Norton & Company.

Hannah Tinti is cofounder and editor in chief of One Story magazine and the author of Animal Crackers, The Good Thief, and The Twelve Bullets of Samuel Hawley. She teaches creative writing at NYU's MFA program, Columbia University's MFA program, and the Museum of Natural History.

Major Jackson is the author of four collections, most recently, Roll Deep. A recipient of a Whiting Writers Award, Pushcart Prize, and Guggenheim Fellowship, Jackson is the Richard A. Dennis Professor at University of Vermont.

James Yeh is the culture editor at VICE and a founding editor of Gigantic. His fiction and nonfiction appears in Tin House, the Paris Review Daily, BOMB, and NOON. He is the recipient of fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, Center for Fiction, and Hub City Writers Project.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center