R201. Before the Door of God

Room 602/603, Washington State Convention Center, Level 6
Thursday, February 27, 2014
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


Before the Door of God is a poetry reading in celebration of the publication of Before the Door of God: An Anthology of Devotional Poetry, edited by Jay Hopler and Kimberly Johnson, and published by Yale University Press.



Mark Jarman is the author of Bone Fires: New and Selected Poems. He has also published two books of essays about poetry, The Secret of Poetry and Body and Soul: Essays on Poetry. He is Centennial Professor of English at Vanderbilt University.

C. Dale Young is the author of three collections of poetry, the most recent being Torn. A recipient of fellowships from the NEA, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the Rockefeller Foundation, he teaches in the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers.


Mary Szybist is the author of Granted, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry, and Incarnadine. She teaches at Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Oregon.

Bruce Beasley is a professor of English at Western Washington University and author of seven collections of poems, including Theophobia and The Corpse Flower: New and Selected Poems. He has won three Pushcart Prizes, an NEA fellowship, the Colorado Prize for Poetry, and other awards and honors.

Jacqueline Osherow is author of six books of poetry, most recently Whitethorn. Her seventh, White on White, is forthcoming in 2014. She’s received the Witter Bynner Prize and grants from the NEA, Guggenheim, and Ingram Merrill Foundations. She directs Creative Writing at Utah.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center