R201. A Tribute to Charles Baxter

Room 200 B&C, Level 2
Thursday, April 9, 2015
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


This panel celebrates Charles Baxter’s prolific, multifaceted, enduring career. For over three decades, Baxter has produced signal achievements in short fiction, novels, poetry, and provocative criticism and craft essays, challenging the stale and shopworn in modern letters. He has also cemented a reputation as an esteemed and beloved mentor. This assemblage of peers, colleagues, and former students will offer testaments to Baxter’s tremendous contributions and influence on and off-page.



Matthew Pitt is the author of the story collection, Attention Please Now. An assistant professor of English at Texas Christian University, his fiction has appeared in Oxford AmericanCincinnati ReviewConjunctions, and elsewhere, and has been published in several anthologies, including Best New American Voices

Michael Byers is the author of the story collection The Coast of Good Intentions, the novella The Broken Man, and two novels, Long for This World and Percival's Planet. He directs the MFA program at the University of Michigan.

Valerie Laken is the author of a story collection, Separate Kingdoms, and a novel, Dream House. Her work has received a Pushcart Prize and has been longlisted for the Story Prize, the Frank O’Connor Award, and Best American Short Stories. She teaches at the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee.

Joan Silber is the author of eight books. She is the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and the Literature Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She has been a finalist for the National Book Award and the Story Prize. She lives in New York City, and teaches at Sarah Lawrence College.

Matt Burgess is author of the novels Uncle Janice and Dogfight, A Love Story.


March 8–11, 2023
Seattle, Washington

Seattle Convention Center