S174. Oracles and Appetites: Three Decades of the FIELD Poetry Prize

Room 101 J, Level 1
Saturday, April 11, 2015
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


For almost half a century, FIELD and Oberlin College Press have been publishing some of the most influential voices in contemporary poetry. In 1997 they began awarding the FIELD Poetry Prize to superlative books by both new and established authors. This reading by prizewinners from the 1990s, 2000s, and 2010s will showcase the aesthetic diversity of this influential series. David Young, a founding editor at the press, will moderate and discuss the selection process.



David Young works at Oberlin College Press. He is the author of eleven collections of poetry, several anthologies, half a dozen critical studies, and many translations, including Rilke, Montale, Petrarch, Du Fu, Basho, and Miroslav Holub.

Mark Neely is the author of Beasts of the Hill (winner of the FIELD Poetry Prize) and Dirty Bomb. He teaches at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana.

Angie Estes is the author of five books of poetry, most recently Enchantée and Tryst, which was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Her awards include a Pushcart Prize, an NEA fellowship in poetry, a Guggenheim fellowship, and the Alice Fay di Castagnola Prize from the Poetry Society of America.

Mary Ann Samyn is the author of five full-length collections of poetry, including My Life in Heaven, winner of the 2012 FIELD Prize. She directs the MFA program at West Virginia University.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center