In the Tempered Dark: Contemporary Poets Transcending Elegy

Room 3501 EF, Kansas City Convention Center, Level 3
Thursday, February 8, 2024
12:10 pm to 1:25 pm


The forthcoming anthology In the Tempered Dark conveys the wide range of grief deemed urgent by contemporary poets from diverse backgrounds, at all career stages, exploring loss, trauma, addiction, marginalized bodies, the climate crisis, inter alia, through various styles and forms. As grief needs, from villanelle to epistle to golden shovel to erasure, these contributors’ poems show visceral links between unique bodies of/in grief and the shapes poems take on the page, transcending elegy.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_2024_Outline.pdf



Lisa Fay Coutley is the author of HOST, tether, Errata, In the Carnival of Breathing, and Small Girl. She is editor of the anthology In the Tempered Dark. She's received an NEA fellowship and is an associate professor of poetry and CNF in the Writer's Workshop at the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

Prageeta Sharma's recent book is Grief Sequence (Wave Books). She is the founder of the conference Thinking Its Presence; a finalist of the 2020 Four Quartets Prize; and a recipient of the 2010 Howard Foundation Award. Sharma is the Henry G. Lee '37 professor of English at Pomona College.

torrin a. greathouse is a transgender cripple-punk and essayist. She is the author of Wound from the Mouth of a Wound, winner of the 2022 Kate Tufts Discovery Award, as well as the forthcoming DEED. She teaches at Rainier Writing Workshop, the low-residency MFA at Pacific Lutheran University

Muriel Leung is the author of How to Fall in Love in a Time of Unnamable Disaster, forthcoming from W.W. Norton & Company, and three poetry books. She received her PhD in creative writing and literature from University of Southern California and is faculty at California Institute of the Arts.

Chloe Honum is the author of the poetry collections The Lantern Room, Then Winter, and The Tulip-Flame, a finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award. Raised in Auckland, Aotearoa New Zealand, she is an associate professor of creative writing at Baylor University.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center