Snap, Crackle, Prose: Telling Our Stories in 300 Words or Less

Room 2215A, Kansas City Convention Center, Street Level
Thursday, February 8, 2024
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


Defying the notion that brevity diminishes impact, this panel celebrates the art of concise writing. Writing micro is an opportunity to cut to the chase, to distill what is most essential into a few carefully considered words, to center a single experience or thought. Defined as 300 words or less, micro essays/narratives/memoirs linger long after you’ve read them. Panelists will discuss how they’ve used micro in their work, and the publication options for micro. Discussion and Q&A at the end.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Snap_Crackle_Prose_AWP_Panel_Outline_2024.pdf



Darien Hsu Gee is the author of five novels published in eleven countries. Her collection of micro essays won a bronze IPPY award, and her craft book on writing memoir won the Hawai'i Book Publishers award. Darien is a Poetry Society of America Chapbook Fellow.

Kalehua Kim is a Native Hawaiian poet living in the Seattle area. Currently pursuing an MFA through the Rainier Writing Workshop, she is a 2023 winner of the James Welch Prize for Indigenous Poets. Her poems have appeared in Poetry Northwest, Denver Quarterly, and Ōiwi, A Native Hawaiian Journal.

Samantha Chagollan centers much of her work around her mixed Mexican and American heritage. Her bachelor’s degree in literature comes from Cal Poly Humboldt, and her creative nonfiction work has appeared in Alebrijes Review, Latin@ Literatures, Lavender Bones, and the anthology Non-White and Woman.

Devi S. Laskar has worked as a newspaper reporter covering crime and politics in North Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Illinois, and Hawaii. She holds an MFA from Columbia University and an MA in South Asian studies from UIUC, is a published poet, and her debut novel was published in 2019.

Shaina A. Nez is Táchii’nii born for Áshįįhi. She serves Diné College as a senior lecturer in creative writing and English. She is a doctoral scholar in justice studies with the School of Social Transformation and Social Inquiry at Arizona State University.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center