What Is an Author—Off the Net?

Room 3501CD, Kansas City Convention Center, Level 3
Thursday, February 8, 2024
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


In 2000, three members of this panel presented "What Is an Author—on the Net?" at AWP. The landscape has changed, and the question is different too. Online publishing is more inclusive and accessible, with greater outreach than a print-dominant approach tied to top-tier creative writing programs, and most writers, especially poets, make use of both. How has this changed the aesthetic standards of the poetry world? How has it changed the way poets approach their writing and careers?

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_event_outline.pdf



Lisa Lewis's books of poetry include The Unbeliever, Silent Treatment, Vivisect, Burned House with Swimming Pool, The Body Double, and Taxonomy of the Missing. She teaches in the creative writing program at Oklahoma State University and serves as editor of the Cimarron Review.

Jennifer Kwon Dobbs is the author of Paper Pavilion, Interrogation Room, and the chapbooks Notes from a Missing Person and Necro Citizens (German, English). A cotranslator of Sami poetry, she is also senior poetry editor at AGNI and professor of English at St. Olaf College.

Ralph Burns has published seven books, most recently But Not Yet, winner of the Blue Lynx Poetry Award; Ghost Notes, winner of the Field Poetry Prize; and Swamp Candles, winner of the Iowa Poetry Prize. Burns edited Crazyhorse periodically from 1985 to 2000. He lives in Fair Lawn, New Jersey.

Laura Minor won the 2020 John Ciardi Poetry Prize. Her critically acclaimed debut book of poems, Flowers as Mind Control, is on BkMk Press/University of Arkansas Press, 2021. She was also a finalist for the 2019 National Poetry Series and the winner of the 2019 ILA's Rita Dove Poetry Award.

Clemonce Heard's poetry collection Tragic City explores his relationship to Oklahoma and the Tulsa Race Massacre. Heard has been awarded time and space from the Tulsa Artist Fellowship, the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, Sala Diaz, MacDowell, and the Helene Wurlitzer Foundation.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center