A Magic of Pauses: Poetry Editors on Collaborative Writing and Editing Practices

Room 2101, Kansas City Convention Center, Street Level
Thursday, February 8, 2024
9:00 am to 10:15 am


Poet and editor Marianne Moore declared poetry a magic of pauses. Five poetry editors share how their varied editorial roles relate to their practices of poetry and cultural work, where their writing experience contributes to editing poems, and what conceptions of community have been born from working on journals and at presses, from established series to emerging spaces. The various pauses and magics that editing brings to writing is considered in terms of labor, time, and collectivism.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Poetry_Editors_Panel.pdf



Cindy Juyoung Ok's debut collection Ward Toward won the 2023 Yale Younger Poets Prize. A Kenyon Review Fellow, poetry editor at Guernica, and host of the Poetry Magazine Podcast, she teaches creative writing at Kenyon College.

Srikanth Reddy's most recent book of poetry is Underworld Lit. A recipient of fellowships from the NEA, Creative Capital, and the Guggenheim Foundation, he is currently a professor of English at the University of Chicago.

Anthony Cody is the author of Borderland Apocrypha (Omnidawn, 2020) and The Rendering (Omnidawn, 2023). He has won a Whiting Award and American Book Award and was a finalist for the National Book Award. He is copublisher of Noemi Press and teaches at Randolph College's Low Residency MFA.

Sarah Ghazal Ali is a Pakistani poet and editor. A Stadler Fellow and winner of the Sewanee Review Poetry Prize, her forthcoming debut collection Theophanies was the Editors' Choice for the 2022 Alice James Award. She is the poetry editor for West Branch and lives in the Bay Area, California.

Bernardo Wade, a writer from New Orleans is an MFA Candidate at IU-Bloomington. He currently serves as the EIC of Indiana Review, and has received support from Tin House, Community of Writers, Frost Place, and the Watering Hole. He moonlights as an equity and justice advocate.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center