A Winning Team: The Author-Publisher Relationship, Sponsored by CLMP

Rooms 443-444, Summit Building, Seattle Convention Center, Level 4
Thursday, March 9, 2023
3:20 pm to 4:35 pm


No book enters the world on its own. Instead, authors and publishers work together to bring out the best in what ultimately becomes the published work. Join us for a conversation with the 2022 Firecracker Award winners in poetry and creative nonfiction to learn about what goes into forging an award-winning relationship between author and publisher.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Event_Outline_A_Winning_Team_The_Author-Publisher_Relationship(1).pdf



Chelsea Kern

Sunyoung Lee is the publisher of award-winning literary nonprofit Kaya Press, where she has worked for the past 22 years.

Truong Tran is a poet, artist, and teacher living and practicing in San Francisco. His most recent works include 100 Words coauthored with poet Damon Potter (Omnidawn 2021) and the much anticipated Book of the Other (Kaya Press 2021).

Stephen Motika

Allison Cobb is the author of After We All Died, Plastic: An Autobiography, Green-Wood, and Born Two. She was a finalist for the National Poetry Series and Oregon Book Award, and her work has appeared in Best American Poetry and many other journals. She co-curates the Switch series in Portland.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center