Begin Again: New Editors on Taking the Helm, Sponsored by CLMP

Room 332, Summit Building, Seattle Convention Center, Level 3
Saturday, March 11, 2023
3:20 pm to 4:35 pm


What happens when a new editor joins an established literary magazine? In this panel, editors—all of whom have taken on their roles within the past few years—discuss the rewards and challenges of bringing new vision and energy to time-honored publications.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Event_Outline__Begin_Again__New_Editors_on_Taking_the_Helm_(3).pdf



Emma Hine is the Communications Manager of the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP). Her debut poetry collection, Stay Safe, received the 2019 Kathryn A. Morton Prize and was published by Sarabande Books in January 2021.

Danielle A. Jackson is a Memphis-born writer the first African-American editor in chief of Oxford American magazine. An MFA student in UGA's narrative nonfiction program, her writing has appeared in the New York Times Book Review, Vulture, the Criterion Collection, and other venues.

Nicole Terez Dutton is the editor of The Kenyon Review.

Keetje Kuipers’ third collection of poems, All Its Charms, includes work honored by publication in both the Pushcart Prize anthology and Best American Poetry. Previously a Stegner fellow, she lives in Montana where she is editor of Poetry Northwest and a board member at the National Book Critics Circle.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center