Autumn House Press 25th Anniversary Celebration Reading

Rooms 345-346, Summit Building, Seattle Convention Center, Level 3
Friday, March 10, 2023
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


Over the past twenty-five years, Autumn House Press has been dedicated to publishing and promoting the best works of literature from emerging and established authors whose writing breaks boundaries and expands the modern literary landscape. For the press’s anniversary reading, five Autumn House authors, including two poets, two fiction writers, and an essayist, will read selections from their books to illustrate the press’s achievements and comment briefly on what Autumn House means to them.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Autumn_House_Press_25th_Anniversary_Celebration_Reading_Outline__AWP_2023.pdf



Michael X. Wang is the author of the story collection Further News of Defeat, winner of the PEN/Bingham Prize, the Autumn House Fiction Prize, and the GLCA New Writer Award. His debut novel, Lost in the Long March, comes out this November.

Samuel Ligon’s most recent novel—Miller Cane: A True & Exact History—was serialized for a year in Spokane’s weekly newspaper, The Inlander. The author of four previous books of fiction, including Drift and Swerve and Wonderland, Ligon is coeditor, with Kate Lebo, of Pie & Whiskey.

Cameron Barnett holds an MFA from the University of Pittsburgh, and he is the author of The Drowning Boy's Guide to Water. He teaches middle school language arts in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and works with various journals and reading series in the city.

Beth Alvarado is the author of Jillian in the Borderlands, Anxious Attachments, Anthropologies: A Family Memoir, and Not a Matter of Love. A teacher at OSU-Cascades Low Residency MFA program, she is on the editorial board of Cutthroat's Puro Chicanx anthology, and she is an advisor for JackLeg Press.

Ruth L. Schwartz has published five books of poems including the National Poetry Series winner Edgewater, and the recipient of 16 national writing awards. She is also the author of a memoir and two nonfiction books, including Conscious Lesbian Dating & Love.

Michael Walsh


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center