No F*cks to Give: Women on the Poetics of Sex & Raunch

Friday, March 25, 2022
10:35 am to 11:35 am


Women artists have long used raunch as a tool of empowerment and comedic relief to claim space and assert identity in healing and transgressive modes. In this joyful and bawdy reading, five women poets will celebrate sex, profanity, and raunch, asserting what Audre Lorde writes: “In touch with the erotic, I become less willing to accept powerlessness, or those other supplied states of being which are not native to me, such as resignation, despair, self-effacement, depression, self-denial.”

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_Reading_No_Fcks_to_Give_Outline.pdf



Kendra DeColo is the author of three poetry collections, I Am Not Trying to Hide My Hungers From the World, My Dinner with Ron Jeremy, Thieves in the Afterlife, and coauthor of the chapbook Low Budget Movie. She received a 2019 NEA poetry fellowship, and she teaches at Hugo House.

Dorothy Chan is the author of two poetry books, Revenge of the Asian Woman and Attack of the Fifty-Foot Centerfold. She is an assistant professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire and the cofounder and editor in chief of Honey Literary Inc., a 501(c)(3) organization.

Tiana Clark is the author of two collections: I Can’t Talk about the Trees without the Blood, winner of the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize, and Equilibrium, winner of the Frost Place chapbook competition. She is the Grace Hazard Conkling Writer in Residence at Smith College.

Erika Meitner is the author of six books of poems, including Useful Junk, out from BOA Editions in 2022, and Holy Moly Carry Me, which won the 2018 National Jewish Book award and was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle award. She is a professor of English at Virginia Tech.

Diane Seuss is the author of five collections of poetry, including Four-Legged Girl, finalist for the Pulitzer Prize; Still Life with Two Dead Peacocks; a Girl, finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award; and frank: sonnets. She is a 2020 Guggenheim fellow.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center