Expanding the Fictional Terrain: Four Writers, Four Collections, Four Awards

125, Pennsylvania Convention Center, 100 Level
Friday, March 25, 2022
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


From social realism to speculative fiction, from American tales to immigrant lit, from heterosexual narratives to LGBTQ stories—Caroline Kim (the 2020 Drue Heinz Literature Prize), Michael X. Wang (the 2021 PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize), Rachel Swearingen (the 2018 New American Fiction Prize), and Kristina Gorcheva-Newberry (the 2020 Raz/Shumaker Prairie Schooner Book Prize in Fiction) will read from their award-winning collections on themes of love, loss, and cultural identity.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_2022--Event_Outline--K._Gorcheva-Newberry_.pdf



Kristina Gorcheva-Newberry, a Russian Armenian, has published fifty stories and won the 2013 Katherine Anne Porter Prize for Fiction, the 2015 T. Williams scholarship from the Sewanee Writers' Conference, and the 2020 Raz/Shumaker Prairie Schooner Book Prize for her first collection, What Isn’t Remembered.

Caroline Kim is the author of a collection of short stories about the Korean diaspora, The Prince of Mournful Thoughts and Other Stories, which won the 2020 Drue Heinz Prize in Literature and was longlisted for the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Short Story Collections and the Story Prize.

Michael X. Wang, born in China's mountainous interior, immigrated to the United States when he was six. He is the author of the story collection Further News of Defeat, which won the PEN/Bingham Prize. His stories can be found in the New England Review and Hayden’s Ferry Review.

Rachel Swearingen's How to Walk on Water and Other Stories, winner of the 2018 New American Press Prize, was a New York Times "New & Noteworthy" selection and one of Electric Lit's favorite collections for 2020. Her stories have appeared in the Missouri ReviewKenyon Review, and Agni.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center