Bowling Green State University MFA's Fiftieth Anniversary Reading

115AB, Pennsylvania Convention Center, 100 Level
Saturday, March 26, 2022
9:00 am to 10:15 am


Celebrating our fiftieth year of fostering original literary voices, BGSU presents five writers from various eras of our program’s history. Writers from BGSU have published more than 400 books and been recognized with the Yale Younger Poets Award, the Flannery O’Connor Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Award for Poetry, the Drue Heinz Award, and the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction, among other honors. This reading will showcase the quality and diversity of BGSU’s writers over the decades.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: Outline_for_AWP_Conference.pdf



MIchael Czyzniejewski is the author of three collections of stories: I Will Love You for the Rest of My Life: Breakup Stories, Chicago Stories, and Elephants in Our Bedroom. He teaches at Missouri State University, where he edits for Moon City Press and Moon City Review.

Carolyn Forché’s books of poetry include Blue Hour; The Angel of History, which received the Los Angeles Times Book Award; and The Country Between Us. She is also the editor of Against Forgetting: Twentieth-Century Poetry of Witness and the coeditor of Poetry of Witness: The Tradition in English 1500–2001. Her honors include fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Lannan Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. She is the director of the Lannan Center for Poetry and Poetics and holds the Lannan Chair in Poetry at Georgetown University in Washington, DC.

Charles Fort is author of The Town Clock Burning, We Did Not Fear the Father, Darvil, Frankenstein Was a Negro, and Mrs. Belladonna’s Supper Club Waltz. His poems appear in The Best American Poetry (2001, 2003, and 2016). Fort's novel The Last Black Hippie in Connecticut is forthcoming.

Karen Craigo is the author of Passing through Humansville and No More Milk. She served as the fifth poet laureate of the state of Missouri. She is a 2000 graduate of BGSU's MFA program.

Matt Bell is the author of the novels Appleseed, Scrapper, and In the House upon the Dirt between the Lake and the Woods, the story collection A Tree or a Person or a Wall, and two works of nonfiction, Refuse to Be Done and Baldur's Gate II. He is an associate professor at Arizona State University.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center