R171. CANCELLED: Poetry of the Extreme and the Elemental

Room 301, Henry B. González Convention Center, Ballroom Level
Thursday, March 5, 2020
10:35 am to 11:50 am


William Carlos Williams described the writing of Marianne Moore as encompassing the vastness of the particular: "So that in looking at some apparently small object, one feels the swirl of great events." In this panel, five poets will examine intersections of the Extreme with the five classical elements (water, fire, air, earth, ether). With an aim toward environment and the cosmic/microcosmic, they will show and discuss the ways these two forces intertwine in their work.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP2019outlineBachmann.docx



Beth Bachmann is the author of three collections of poetry: Temper, winner of the AWP Donald Hall Prize and Kate Tufts Discovery Award, Do Not Rise, winner of the PSA Alice Fay di Castagnola Award, and CEASE, winner of the VQR Emily Clark Balch Prize. She teaches at Vanderbilt University.

Nick Flynn is a poet, playwright, and memoirist. His most recent book is Stay, a collection of collaborations and writings. I Will Destroy You, a collection of poems, is forthcoming. His work has been translated into fifteen languages.

Brenda Hillman is the author of ten collections of poetry, including Practical Water, Seasonal Works with Letters on Fire, and Extra Hidden Life, among the Days, and has co-translated At Your Feet by Ana Cristina Cesar. Hillman is the Filippi Professor of Poetry at St. Mary’s College of California.

Deborah A. Miranda (Ohlone-Costanoan Esselen Nation) is author of Bad Indians: A Tribal Memoir; poetry collections Indian Cartography, The Zen of La Llorona, Raised by Humans, and Altar to Broken Things (forthcoming). She is Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English at Washington and Lee University.

Major Jackson is the author of five collections, most recently The Absurd Man. A recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, Jackson is the Richard A. Dennis Professor of English at University of Vermont. He is the editor of Best American Poetry 2019.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center