F124. Cinco: A Multigenre Reading

Room 207, Henry B. González Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Friday, March 6, 2020
9:00 am to 10:15 am


Latinx writers are poised to be an indelible presence at AWP as it unfolds, for the first time, in a Latinx city. Red Hen Press is pleased to present a slate of its Latinx authors sharing new work: the latest winner of one its national poetry book prizes; a fiction writer with a forthcoming novel; a recently published nonfiction writer; a new Red Hen poet adding to the press’ LGBTQ legacy; and a poet slated to publish a book in collaboration with a Chicano visual artist.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_San_Antonio_panel_outline.docx



Francisco Aragón is the author of Puerta del Sol and Glow of Our Sweat. He is also the editor of the award-winning anthology The Wind Shifts: New Latino Poetry. A third book, After Rubén, is forthcoming. He directs Letras Latinas, the literary program at Notre Dame's Institute for Latino Studies.

Florencia Ramirez, the author of Eat Less Water, is a trained researcher at the University of Chicago’s School of Public Policy. She is a recipient of the Gift of Freedom and Environmental Hero award. She has been interviewed on NPR, Pacifica Radio, Entertainment Weekly, CBS, and KTLA Morning News.

Felicia Zamora's poetry books include Body of Render (2018 Benjamin Saltman Prize winner), Of Form & Gather (2016 Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize winner), Instrument of Gaps, and & in Open, Marvel. She won the 2015 Tomaž Šalamun Prize and is the associate poetry editor for Colorado Review.

David Campos, a CantoMundo fellow, is the author of Furious Dusk and the forthcoming American Quasar. His poems have appeared in the American Poetry Review, Boxcar Review, and LunaLuna, among many others. He teaches English in the Puente Program at Fresno City College.

Dariel Suarez is the Cuban-born author of the novel The Playwright's House and the story collection A Kind of Solitude, winner of the 2017 Spokane Short Fiction Prize. Dariel is director of core programs and faculty at GrubStreet, the nation's largest independent creative writing center.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center