F238. CANCELLED: Gender, Genre, Word, and the World: New Books from Trans and Queer Writers

Status: Not Accepted

Room 217C, Henry B. González Convention Center, Meeting Room Level
Friday, March 6, 2020
1:45 pm to 3:00 pm


2020 was once the future, but now it is present. Join five trans and queer writers who will read from brand new books in memoir, essay, poetry, and fiction, that breathe new worlds into being from the margins. Drawing from imagination, memory, and history, these are stories of ordinary and extraordinary survival, love, gender nonconformity, pleasure, and transformation, amid grief, violence, colonialism, isolation, and other inherited traumas of the modern world.

Outline & Supplemental Documents

Event Outline: AWP_2020_Event_Outline_-_Gender,_Genre,_Word_the_World.pdf



Oliver Baez Bendorf is the author of Advantages of Being Evergreen and The Spectral Wilderness, with poems in APR, Bomb, and Poetry. A recipient of fellowships from CantoMundo, Lambda, Vermont Studio Center, and Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, he teaches poetry at Kalamazoo College.

Jaquira Díaz is the author of the forthcoming Ordinary Girls and the recipient of fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, and the Kenyon Review. Her work appears in The Best American Essays, Longreads, and the New York Times Style Magazine.

T Fleischmann is the author of Time Is the Thing a Body Moves Through, Syzygy, Beauty, and the pamphlet Gonorrhea, SESTA, Institutions. They are a nonfiction editor at DIAGRAM and a contributing editor at Essay Daily.

Malcolm Tariq is a poet and playwright. He is the author of Heed the Hollow, winner of the 2018 Cave Canem Poetry Prize, and Extended Play. He has held fellowships from Cave Canem, the Watering Hole, Horizon Theatre Company. Malcolm has a PhD from the University of Michigan.

John Elizabeth Stintzi is a nonbinary poet and novelist who was raised on a cattle farm in northwestern Ontario. They are the winner of the 2019 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers, and the author of the novel Vanishing Monuments as well as the poetry collection Junebat.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center