S217. Celebrating 20 Years of Extraordinary Fiction at Riverhead Books

Room 618/619/620, Washington State Convention Center, Level 6
Saturday, March 1, 2014
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


Since its founding, Riverhead Books has published the freshest, most memorable and diverse new voices in literary fiction. Riverhead authors have won Pulitzer Prizes, National Book Critics Circle Awards, Story Prizes, and been named to Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists, the National Book Foundation’s 5 Under 35, and the New Yorker’s 20 Under 40, among many other distinctions. Four of Riverhead’s acclaimed writers will read and discuss their work with Riverhead’s director of publicity.



Jynne Dilling Martin is publicity director at Riverhead Books. Her poetry has appeared widely including in Granta, Ploughshares, and on the "PBS Newshour" with Jim Lehrer. She is a Yaddo fellow, winner of the Boston Review/92nd Street Y Discovery Prize, and the 2013 Antarctica Artist in Residence.

Manuel Gonzales is the executive director of Austin Bat Cave a nonprofit writing and tutoring center for kids in Austin, Texas. His debut collection, The Miniature Wife and Other Stories, was published January 2013 by Riverhead Books. He's currently at work on a novel.

Jess Row is the author of two collections of short stories, The Train to Lo Wu and Nobody Ever Gets Lost. His novel Your Face in Mine will appear in 2014. Recipient of a Whiting Writers Award, she was named a "Best Young American Novelist" by Granta. He teaches at the College of New Jersey.

Danielle Evans is the author of the short-story collection Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self, a co-winner of the 2011 PEN American Robert W. Bingham Prize for a first book and a National Book Foundation 5 under 35 selection. She teaches in the MFA program at American University.

Nami Mun’s Miles from Nowhere garnered a Whiting award, a Pushcart prize, and the Chicago Public Library’s 21st Century Award. Miles was also shortlisted for the Orange Prize for New Writers and the Asian American Literary Award. http://www.namimun.com.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center