S312. Disabled and D/deaf Writers Caucus

E147-148, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Saturday, March 30, 2019
6:00 pm to 7:15 pm


The Disabled and D/deaf Writers Caucus allows for those who are disabled or living with chronic illness, and their allies, to network and discuss common challenges related to identity, writing, and teaching while professionally leading a literary life. By meeting annually at the AWP conference, we aim to archive our interests, challenges, and concerns in order to increase our visibility and emphasize our importance both to this organization and to the communities where we live, teach, and work.



Cade Leebron is a writer living in Columbus, Ohio. She holds an MFA from Ohio State. Her work has appeared in BrevityAmerican Literary ReviewElectric Literature, and elsewhere.

Meg Day is the 2015–2016 recipient of the Amy Lowell Poetry Travelling Scholarship, a 2013 recipient of an NEA Fellowship in Poetry, and the author of Last Psalm at Sea Level. Day is Assistant Professor of English and Creative Writing at Franklin & Marshall College.

Jess Silfa is an Afro-Latinx disability and LGBTQ rights advocate. They are working on their first novel about an immigrant community in the South Bronx. 

Molly McCully Brown is the author of The Virginia State Colony For Epileptics and Feebleminded, which won the 2016 Lexi Rudnitsky First Book Prize. She is the 2017-2018 Jeff Baskin Writers fellow at the Oxford American.

Sonya Huber is the author of three books of creative nonfiction: Opa Nobody, Cover Me: A Health Insurance Memoir, and Pain Woman Takes Your Keys, as well as a textbook, The Backwards Research Guide for Writers, and the book The Evolution of Hillary Clinton. She teaches at Fairfield University.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center