R293. Editing Patriarchy: Women Editors Respond to Historic & Restorative Publishing

B115, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Thursday, March 28, 2019
4:30 pm to 5:45 pm


In the 106 years since Poetry magazine’s founding, women editors have followed Harriet Monroe’s trailblazing example, yet women editors at literary magazines and presses remain the exception rather than the norm. Editors consider how inheriting a historical space of masculine privilege both constrains and creates opportunities for women. Through the lens of intersectional feminism, this panel looks at challenges against tradition and culture that women editors and writers face in publishing.



Rachel Morgan is the author of the chapbook, Honey & Blood, Blood & Honey. She was a finalist for 2017 National Poetry Series Contest and recipient of a grant to the Vermont Studio Center. She teaches at the University of Northern Iowa and is the Poetry Editor for the North American Review.

Sumita Chakraborty is poetry editor of AGNI, art editor of At Length, and a doctoral candidate in English at Emory. Her poems and prose can be found in POETRY, Los Angeles Review of Books, Cultural Critique, and more.

Lauren Goodwin Slaughter is an editor at New Michigan Press/DIAGRAM and a recipient of a 2014 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Award. Her first collection of poems, A Lesson in Smallness, is forthcoming this year. Her writing has appeared in Drunken Boat, Blackbird, and the Kenyon Review online.

Anna Lena Phillips Bell is the author of Ornament, winner of the 2016 Vassar Miller Prize, and the artist's book A Pocket Book of Forms. The recipient of a North Carolina Arts Council Fellowship in literature, she is editor of Ecotone and Lookout Books, and teaches at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

Melissa R. Sipin is cofounder of TAYO Literary Magazine and partnered with the Feminist Press to establish the Louise Meriwether Prize. She has published in Prairie SchoonerSlice Magazine, and Guernica, and is hard at work on a novel about her grandmother's capture in WWII. msipin.com


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center