R323. LGBTQ Caucus

F150, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Thursday, March 28, 2019
6:00 pm to 7:15 pm


The LGBTQ Writers Caucus provides a space for writers who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer to network and discuss common issues and challenges, such as representation and visibility on and off the literary page, and how to incorporate one’s personal identity into their professional and academic lives. The Caucus also strives to discuss, develop, and increase queer representation for future AWP conferences, and serve as a supportive community and resource for its members.



Samantha Tetangco has an MFA in fiction from the University of New Mexico. Her stories, essays, and poetry have appeared in The Sun, Gargoyle, Foglifter, Phoebe, Gertrude, and others. She is currently the president of the LGBTQ Writers Caucus and teaches writing at the University of California Merced.

Zane DeZeeuw recently graduated with his MFA in Creative Writing from Western Kentucky University. He writes fiction, poetry, and nonfiction.

Julia Leslie Guarch's poems appear in The MarquisRain Party & Disaster SocietyThe Vending MachineSunset LiminalPulse/Pulso AnthologyImpossible Archetype, and Triadæ Magazine. She was a finalist for the Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award and cowinner of the MacKnight Black Poetry Award.

Marlena Chertock has two books of poetry: Crumb-sized and On that one-way trip to Mars. She uses her skeletal dysplasia as a bridge to scientific poetry. Marlena lives in Washington, DC and serves as Communications Coordinator for the LGBTQ Writers Caucus.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center