S266. 21st Century Innovations in Poetic Form

E146, Oregon Convention Center, Level 1
Saturday, March 30, 2019
3:00 pm to 4:15 pm


How do contemporary poets reassemble, reinvent and play with form? Following Oulipo, formalism and free-verse, how does the impulse to use structure as a launch point for creativity thrive in contemporary poetics? A panel of practitioners and scholars of innovative forms will focus on how contemporary poets and particularly historically-marginalized voices bend, blend, break and build off traditions of the past, forging hybridized and newly invented forms from the Golden Shovel to the Genesis.



Jaimee Hills, author of How to Avoid Speaking, won the Anthony Hecht Poetry Prize and was a featured reader in the O.B. Hardison Series at the Folger Shakespeare Library. Her work has appeared in Best New Poets, Mississippi Review, Drunken Boat, and Blackbird

Amanda Johnston is the author of Another Way to Say Enter. She is an Affrilachian poet, a Cave Canem graduate fellow, a cofounder of Black Poets Speak Out, and founder of Torch Literary Arts. She teaches in the Stonecoast MFA program at the University of Southern Maine.

Dora Malech is the author of three books of poems, Stet, Say So, and Shore Ordered Ocean. A former Amy Clampitt Fellow and Ruth Lilly Fellow, her poems have appeared in The New Yorker, Poetry, and elsewhere. She is an Assistant Professor of Poetry at The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University.

Kimberly Ann Southwick is the founder and editor in chief of the literary arts journal Gigantic Sequins, which celebrates in 2019 the 10th anniversary of its first issue's debut. She has two poetry chapbooks, most recently EFS & VEES. She is a PhD Candidate at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Jaimie Gusman received her MFA from the University of Washington and her PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Hawai'i. Her first book, Anyjar, was published in September 2017. Gusman is a recipient of the Rita Dove Poetry Award (2015) and the Ian MacMillan Prize (2012)


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center