F205. Vassar Miller Poetry Prize 25th Anniversary Reading

Florida Salon 1, 2, & 3, Marriott Waterside, Second Floor
Friday, March 9, 2018
1:30 pm to 2:45 pm


The Vassar Miller Poetry Prize, founded at the University of North Texas in 1993, honors Texas poet, writer, and disability rights advocate Vassar Miller (1924–1998). To commemorate the prize's 25th anniversary, writers of winning manuscripts will read from their collections, showcasing the formal and geographic variety of poetry published in the series. The reading will be followed by a Q&A.



Jordan Windholz is currently a visiting assistant professor at Shippensburg University. He is the author of Other Psalms and a scholar of English Renaissance literature.

Alison Stine is the author of three poetry books: Wait, winner of the Brittingham Prize; Ohio Violence, winner of the Vassar Miller; and Lot of My Sister, along with a novel Supervision and a novella The Protectors. She has received an NEA Fellowship, a Wallace Stegner, and a Ruth Lilly Fellowship.

James Najarian grew up on a goat farm in central Pennsylvania. He has published a book on Keats and the Victorians, articles on 19th- and 20th-century poetry, and poems in literary journals. He won the 2017 Vassar Miller Prize, and his book of verse is forthcoming.

Anna Lena Phillips Bell is the author of Ornament, winner of the 2016 Vassar Miller Prize, and the artist's book A Pocket Book of Forms. The recipient of a 2016 North Carolina Arts Council Fellowship in literature, she is editor of Ecotone and Lookout Books, and teaches at UNC Wilmington.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center