F163. A Year of Intersectional Thinking: Identity in the Classroom

Room 18 & 19, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Friday, March 9, 2018
10:30 am to 11:45 am


In times of political unrest and 24-hour news cycles, what is our responsibility as educators of creative writing and composition to teach students not only to write, but to observe, interpret, and make meaning out of what they see? How do we teach increasingly diverse student populations to think intersectionally about identity? VIDA invites panelists to discuss tools and approaches to enable students to think, discuss, and write about both their own marginalization and privilege.



Hafizah Geter's poems have appeared or are forthcoming in The New Yorker, Tin House, Boston Review, Gulf Coast, and Narrative magazine, among others. She is on the board of VIDA and she is a poetry editor for Phantom Books. She is an editor at Amazon Publishing's Little A and Day One.

Amy Lemmon is the author of the poetry collections Fine Motor and Saint Nobody, and coauthor, with Denise Duhamel, of ABBA: The Poems and Enjoy Hot or Iced: Poems in Conversation and a Conversation. She is professor of English at the Fashion Institute of Technology-SUNY in New York City.

Nicholas Boggs, clinical assistant professor of English at NYU, is coeditor of James Baldwin's "children's book for adults," Little Man, Little Man: A Story of Childhood, forthcoming from Duke University Press. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Millay Colony for the Arts.

Camille Rankine is the author of the poetry collection Incorrect Merciful Impulses, and the chapbook Slow Dance with Trip Wire, winner of the Poetry Society of America New York Chapbook Award. She serves on the executive committee for VIDA: Women in Literary Arts.

Syreeta McFadden is one of the founding editors of the online literary magazine Union Station and a columnist for The Guardian US. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, NPR, BuzzFeed, Huffington Post, Feministing, The Brooklyn Rail, and Storyscape Journal.


March 4–7, 2020
San Antonio, TX

Henry B. González Convention Center