R194. The Revival of Aphrodite’s Daughter: Rhetoric in Contemporary Poetry

Room 20 & 21, Tampa Convention Center, First Floor
Thursday, March 8, 2018
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


“Persuasion is Aphrodite's daughter: it is she who beguiles our mortal hearts.” So wrote Sappho 2,600 years ago, and rhetorical figures, once considered disingenuous outliers, have undergone a shift in perception by poets who recognize them as the enduring armature of many memorable lines of poetry—from the political to the postconfessional. After two previous panels on rhetoric, five poets discuss additional rhetorical figures as they exist in their own poems and in those of poets they admire.



Sharon Dolin is the author of six poetry books, most recently: Manual for Living, Whirlwind, and Burn and Dodge, winner of the AWP Donald Hall Prize in Poetry. A recipient of a 2016 PEN/Heim Translation Fund grant, she directs Writing About Art in Barcelona each June and teaches at Poets House.

Jericho Brown wrote Please, which won the American Book Award, and The New Testament, which won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. He is a Guggenheim fellow, and his poems have appeared in The New York Times, The New Yorker, and The Best American Poetry. He is an associate professor at Emory University.

Linda Gregerson is the author of six books of poetry, most recently Prodigal, and two books of criticism. Among her honors are an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature and the Kingsley Tufts Award. She is a Distinguished University Professor at the University of Michigan.

Pablo Medina is the author of many books of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and translation, among them the critically acclaimed novel Cubop City Blues, the poetry collections The Island Kingdom and The Man who Wrote on Water, and a new English version of The Kingdom of This World by Alejo Carpentier.

Ange Mlinko is the author of Distant Mandat, her fifth collection of poetry. She received the Randall Jarrell Award from the Poetry Foundation, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. She is an associate professor at the University of Florida.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center