F191. 45th Year Anniversary Reading: The Ashland Poetry Press

Room LL5, Western New England MFA Annex, Lower Level
Friday, February 28, 2014
12:00 pm to 1:15 pm


Ashland Poetry Press (APP) authors with books forthcoming in 2013/2014 will read from their work in celebration of the more than 150 titles published since the 1969 founding of the press. The APP Director will introduce the poets and provide a brief overview of the press's review process and publishing interests, selected poems by older poets, an annual best-manuscript publication prize (500 manuscripts submitted each year), and collections by poets over 40 with no more than one earlier book.



Stephen Haven is author of three poetry collections, The Last Sacred Place in North America, Dust and Bread, and The Long Silence of the Mohawk Carpet Smokestacks. His collaborative translations of Chinese poetry have appeared in many journals and in the chapbook The Enemy in Defensive Positions.

Nicholas Samaras, winner of the Yale Series of Younger Poets Award for Hands of the Saddlemaker. His next book is American Psalm, World Psalm. He serves as the poetry editor for the Adirondack Review.

Robin Davidson is co-translator with Ewa Nowakowska of The New Century: Poems by Ewa Lipska, is the recipient of Fulbright and NEA awards, and teaches creative writing as associate professor of English for the University of Houston-Downtown. Her collection Luminous Other is forthcoming.

Richard Jackson is the winner of the AWP George Garrett Award, Guggenheim, Fulbright, Witter-Bynner, NEA, and NEH Fellowships. He is the author of ten books of poems including Resonance, Out of Place, two books of criticism, and two Slovene anthologies.

Catherine Staples's debut full-length collection, The Rattling Window, won the McGovern Prize. Her poems have appeared in Blackbird, Prairie Schooner, the Southern Review, Commonweal, and the Michigan Quarterly. Never a Note Forfeit won the Keystone Chapbook Prize. She teaches in the Honors program at Villanova University.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center