R121. Writing in a Time of Terror and Environmental Collapse

Archives, Marriott Marquis, Meeting Level Four
Thursday, February 9, 2017
9:00 am to 10:15 am


How do writers give shape to the experiences of war, terrorism, and the disregard for life endemic on this planet? Muriel Rukeyser believed that denying the responsiveness to the world could bring forth "the weakness that leads to mechanical aggression... turning us inward to devour our own humanity, and outward to sell and kill nature and each other." Given global terrorism and the spoliation of the planet, the stakes in being able to respond are terribly high. Writers working in poetry, prose, and hybrid forms, will discuss their ways of meeting this challenge in their works past and present, including the difficulties they face and the sources from which they take inspiration.



Jacqueline Kolosov has published book-length fiction and poetry, most recently Memory of Blue and Paris, Modigliani & Me. Her nonfiction, fiction, and poetry appear in Shenandoah, Prairie Schooner, The Sewanee Review, and others. She serves on the creative writing faculty at Texas Tech.

Imad Rahman is the author of I Dream Of Microwaves. His short fiction has appeared in One Story, The Fairy Tale Review, Gulf Coast, and in the anthology xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths, among other venues. He is an associate professor of creative writing at Cleveland State University.

Jacob Shores-Arguello is the recipient of a Fulbright Fellowship to Ukraine, the Dzanc Books ILP International Literature Award, and the Fine Arts Work Center Fellowship in Provincetown. His manuscript, In The Absence of Clocks, was awarded the 2011 Crab Orchard Series Open Competition.

William Wenthe is the author of four books of poems; the most recent is God's Foolishness. He has received an NEA fellowship in poetry and two Pushcart Prizes, and publishes critical essays as well as poetry. He teaches poetry and creative writing at Texas Tech University.

Anne Sanow is the author of the story collection Triple Time. Her awards include the Drue Heinz Literature Prize, the L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award for Fiction, the Nelson Algren Award for Short Fiction, and an NEA fellowship in prose.


February 7–10, 2024
Kansas City, Missouri

Kansas City Convention Center