Intro Journals Project

The Intro Journals Project is a literary competition for the discovery and publication of the best new works by students currently enrolled in AWP member programs. Program directors are invited to nominate students' works, which are selected for publication in participating literary journals, including Colorado Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review, Iron Horse Literary Review, Mid-American Review, Puerto del Sol, Quarterly West, Tahoma Literary Review, and Tampa Review.

2020 General Editor

Dave Essinger, University of Findlay

2020 Intro Journals Project Winners

Intro Journals Winners: Poetry

Selected by Terry Ann Thaxton

  • “Golden Shovel in a New York Ballroom”
    Alexa Quezada
    Indiana University—Purdue University Indianapolis
    Iron Horse Literary Review

  • “Pablo’s Contrapuntal”
    Lindsay Lake
    University of North Carolina Wilmington Department of Creative Writing MFA Program
    Tampa Review

  • “i am unfit to raise daughters”
    Jessica Ram
    University of North Carolina Wilmington Department of Creative Writing MFA Program
    Mid-American Review

  • “Prequel to Truth”
    Jean Buehler
    St. Olaf College
    Hayden’s Ferry Review

  • “Analogies to various facets of evolution (people of influence)”
    Sydney Minnehan
    St. Lawrence University
    Puerto del Sol

  • “No Rhododendron”
    Samyak Shertok
    University of Utah Creative Writing Program
    Colorado Review

  • “there’s a parcel in your pocket it carries your abduction”
    Kathryne David Gargano
    University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee Creative Writing
    Tahoma Review

Honorable Mention

  • “lay me on the table + put flowers in my mouth”
    Matt Mitchell
    Lindsay-Crane Center for Writing and Literature, Hiram College

  • “Fireworks and Litanies”
    Collin Berry
    Vermont College of Fine Arts

  • “yes, I’m black”
    Deziree Brown
    University of Illinois at Chicago

  • “the derelict spacecraft tries, again, to define beauty”
    Hannah Cobb
    Eastern Washington University’s MFA

  • “Thoughts While the Westboro Baptist Church Pickets Outside My School”
    Caroline Carpenter
    Central Michigan University

  • “grade school”
    Matthew Fowler
    San Diego State University

  • “Ode to Wisconsin”
    Jessica Tanck
    University of Illinois

  • “Veteran’s Day, Arbeit Macht Frei-A Duet”
    Heather Tillery
    Eastern Washington University MFA

Intro Journals Winners: Fiction

Selected by Dave Housley

  • “Someone Tell a Story, Something to Pass the Time”
    Lacey Rowland
    University of Missouri
    Tahoma Review

  • “Elizabeth Kaplan’s Best Day Ever”
    Christopher Vanjonack
    University of Illinois
    Quarterly West

  • “The Alien Dialogues”
    Mark DiFruscio
    Oklahoma State University
    Puerto del Sol

  • “Trowel, Brush, Bones”
    Audrey Hollis
    Purdue University
    Iron Horse Literary Review

Honorable Mention

  • “It’s Almost Like People Don’t Say What They Mean”
    Siarra Riehl
    Vermont College of Fine Arts’s MFA in Writing Program

  • “Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder Has 8 Symptoms”
    Ren Jones
    College of Charleston

  • “The Fucked Upness”
    Lara Avery
    University of Mississippi MFA

  • “Do You Think That Makes You Special?”
    Adam Rensch
    University of Illinois at Chicago

Intro Journals Winners: Creative Nonfiction

Selected by Tom Bligh

  • “Pardo/Ghost Hand”
    Matthew Morris
    University of Arizona
    Mid-American Review

  • “Love In the Time of Climate Change”
    Caroline Woodwell
    Eastern Washington University
    Tampa Review

  • “On Gurning”
    Rebecca Brill
    University of Minnesota Creative Writing Program
    Colorado Review

  • “Assemblies”
    Mary Henn
    University of Missouri Kansas City MFA Program
    Hayden’s Ferry Review

Honorable Mention

  • “Sounds of War”
    Brandon Parker
    Point Loma Nazarene University

  • “What It Means to Wade”
    Dakota Reed
    College of Charleston

  • “Lineal Gaps”
    Esther Hayes
    Colorado State University

  • “The Bitch’s Dictionary More or Less Alphabetically Arranged”
    Breanne Hager
    University of Memphis