AWP Small Press Publisher Award

AWP’s Small Press Publisher Award is an annual prize for nonprofit presses and literary journals that recognizes the important role such organizations play in publishing creative works and introducing new authors to the reading public. The award acknowledges the hard work, creativity, and innovation of these presses and journals, and honors their contributions to the literary landscape through their publication of consistently excellent work.

The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a complimentary exhibit booth, including two complimentary conference registrations, at AWP’s Annual Conference & Bookfair in the year following the recipient’s recognition. In even years, the award is given to a journal, and, in odd years, to a press.

Winner of the 2014 AWP Small Press Publisher Award

One Story, Inc. One Story, Inc.

One Story, Inc. is an award-winning, independent, 501(c)(3) not-for-profit literary publisher devoted to promoting the art form of the short story and supporting the authors who write them. For over eleven years, their flagship magazine, One Story, has published the best from established and emerging authors of short fiction, and is now one of the largest circulating literary magazines in the country with over 15,000 readers. In 2012, One Story, Inc. established One Teen Story, a short story literary magazine for readers of young adult fiction.

The Cincinnati Review
Creative Nonfiction

Erin Belieu, Florida State University
Sarah Gorham, Sarabande Press
Eric Lorberer, Rain Taxi Review of Books


Letters of nomination are accepted each year between August 1 and September 15 and should be emailed in PDF format to:

      Christian Teresi
      Director of Conferences
      Association of Writers & Writing Programs

To nominate a candidate for the AWP Small Press Publisher Award, please consult our award guidelines.

List of Winners

See a list of previous award winners and finalists.