Sharon Olds Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award from Academy of American Poets

September 8, 2016

Sharon Olds speaking at AWP's conference

The Academy of American Poets bestowed its highest honor, the Wallace Stevens Award, on Sharon Olds, Pulitzer Prize for Poetry winner for Stag’s Leap in 2013. The award includes a $100,000 honorarium.

The Academy announced several other awards as well. Natasha Trethewey, also a Pulitzer Prize winner, was awarded a $25,000 Academy of American Poets Fellowship for “distinguished poetic achievement.”

The Lenore Marshall Prize, recognizing “the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year,” went to Lynn Emmanuel, for her collection, The Nerve of It: Poems New and Selected. This award also carries a $25,000 stipend.

Rayfish, by Mary Hickman, was awarded the James Laughlin Prize, which is “given to recognize and support a second book of poetry forthcoming in the next calendar year.” The award includes $5,000 for the poet plus a week’s residency at the Betsy Hotel in Miami, and the Academy distributes copies of the book to all of its members.

Ron Padgett’s Zone: Selected Poems by Guillaume Apollinaire has won the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award. This $1,000 prize “recognizes a published translation of poetry from any language into English that demonstrates literary excellence.”

Stephen Sartarelli’s The Selected Poetry of Pier Paolo Pasolini has won the Raiziss/De Palchi Book Prize. This $10,000 prize is “given for the translation into English of a significant work of modern Italian poetry.”

Donte Collins has won the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award for his poem “what the dead know by heart.” This $1,000 award, established in 2013, recognizes a student poet who is twenty-three years old or younger and has won one of the current year’s University & College Poetry Prizes, also given by the Academy of American Poets.

No Comments