Robert McGovern Publication Prize Winners Announced.

February 1, 2005

The Ashland Poetry Press is pleased to announce that A.V. Christie and Jerry Harp have won the 2004 Robert McGovern Publication Prize. Christie won for her book, The Housing, nominated by Eamon Grennan, and Harp for his book, Gatherings, nominated by John Kinsella. Christie and Harp each received $500 and 100 copies of the winning book. Manuscripts submitted to the McGovern Prize are accepted only by nomination. Only poets over forty, who have published no more than one book, are eligible. Last year’s nominating panel consisted of Philip Levine, Alice Fulton, Robert Phillips, Richard Jackson, Eamon Grennan, Gerry LaFemina, William Heyen, John Kinsella, Andrew Hudgins, and David Citino. Stephen Haven and Deborah Fleming selected the winning books, both of which were published in December 2004. The Ashland Poetry Press is also pleased to announce that Kathryn Winograd’s book, Air Into Breath was the co-winner of the 2003 Colorado Book Award in Poetry.

No Comments