AWP Small Press Publisher Award Winners

Previous winners and finalists of the AWP Small Press Publisher Award. Scroll over each image for more information.

Year Winner Finalists


Sarabande Books Sarabande Books
Sarabande Books

Winner: Sarabande Books

Sarabande Books was founded in 1994 to publish poetry, short fiction, and essay; to disburse these works with diligence and integrity; and to serve as an educational resource for readers, students, and teachers of creative writing. Sarabande's first titles appeared in 1996, and the press currently has more than 150 titles under contract or in print, many of them prize-winning. Sarabande authors and staff members conduct an estimated 225 readings, workshops, and lectures per year, and they strive to make their programs and services accessible to all.

  • Bellevue Literary Press (BLP)
  • Coffee House Press
  • Red Hen Press