Ada Limón Named the Nation’s 24th Poet Laureate

July 13, 2022

Poet and author Ada Limón has been named the 24th Poet Laureate by the Library of Congress. Limón succeeds Joy Harjo who served as Poet Laureate for three terms and spoke at the #AWP21 Keynote address. This fall, Limón will join the ranks of past Poet Laureates including Natasha Trethewey, W.S. Merwin, Robert Pinsky, Juan Felipe Herrera, and several others. Limón has published six collections of poetry with the most recent, The Hurting Kind, published by Milkweed Editions in May. Some of her professional accomplishments include receiving fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Kentucky Foundation for Women, the Provincetown Fine Arts Work Center, and the New York Foundation for the Arts. Past works of Limón’s have been awarded accolades such as the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry and have been selected as finalists for the National Book Award and National Book Critics Circle Award. Limón, a native Californian, currently lives in Lexington, Kentucky with her husband and dog and teaches in the MFA program at Queens University of Charlotte. Limón's first reading will take place on September 29 at the Library of Congress to kick off the Library's fall season. 

Previous Story:
AWP Updates on TWC
July 11, 2022
Next Story:
AWP Hiring Advertising Sales Associate
July 14, 2022

No Comments