2018 Guggenheim Fellows Announced; Writers Include AWP Donald Hall Prize Winner Joan Naviyuk Kane

April 11, 2018

Guggenheim Memorial Foundation logo

The Guggenheim Memorial Foundation announced the recipients of 173 Guggenheim Fellowships for the year of 2018 on April 4. Among the fellows, who were selected from a pool of over 3,000 applicants, is Joan Naviyuk Kane, winner of the 2012 AWP Donald Prize for Poetry. Her collection, Hyperboreal (University of Pittsburgh Press) was selected by Arthur Sze.

Established in 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation awards approximately 175 fellowships every year and includes funding for six-to-twelve months. Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

Of the 173 fellowships, 23 were awarded to writers of poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. Included in the list of selected writers are authors such as Roxane Gay, Ilya Kaminsky, and Tyehimba Jess. Below are the 2018 fellows selected for creative writing.

Reginald Dwayne Betts
Amy Gerstler
Tyehimba Jess
Ilya Kaminsky
Joan Naviyuk Kane
Dunya Mikhail
Sirkanth Reddy
Anya Krugovoy Silver
Monica Youn

Rachel Cusk
Andrew Greer
Lauren Groff
Jennifer Haigh
Min Jin Lee
China Miéville
Deb Olin Unferth

Creative Nonfiction
Nicholson Baker
Teju Cole
Robert Finch
Roxane Gay
Jane Kamensky
John Jeremiah Sullivan
Lily Tuck


Photo Credit: Guggenheim Foundation

Previous Story:
Emily Nemens Named Editor of The Paris Review
April 9, 2018

No Comments