Academy of American Poets Prizes Winners Announced

September 20, 2013

Last week, the Academy of American Poets announced the winners of its annual series of poetry prizes. The organization awarded over $200,000 to poets at various stages in their careers. Phillip Levine, recent U.S. Poet Laureate, received the Wallace Stevens Award, given annually to recognize outstanding mastery in the art of poetry, which bestows a $200,000 stipend. The Academy of American Poets Fellowship was given to Carolyn Forché, and Patricia Smith received the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize for her first book Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah. Both Forché and Smith received $25,000.

The James Laughlin Award of $5,000 went to Jillian Weise for her second book The Book of Goodbyes. John Taylor received the Raiziss/de Palchi Fellowship for his translation of Selected Poems by Lorenzo Calogero. Taylor receives $25,000 and a residency at the American Academy in Rome to work on a forthcoming translation of modern Italian poetry into English. $1,000 and the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award went to Cynthia Hogue and Sylvain Gallais for their co-translation of Virginie Lalucq and Jean-Luc Nancy's Fortino Samano (The Overflowing of the Poem).

Read more about current and past recipients and their work at

Next Story:
MacArthur Fellowship Increases to $625,000
September 20, 2013

No Comments