Grace Cavalieri Wins George Garrett Award

April 5, 2013


The AWP Board of Directors selected Grace Cavalieri as the recipient of this year’s George Garrett Award for Outstanding Community Service in Literature. In a speech honoring Cavalieri at the AWP Boston Conference in early March, Steve Heller, outgoing President of the AWP Board of Directors, listed some of her many accomplishments: sixteen published books and chapbooks of poems, twenty-six produced plays, and two produced operas. She founded two publishing houses, and she hosted the acclaimed radio interview series, “The Poem and the Poet,” from the Library Congress. After speaking with her and reviewing her merits, Heller said, “I discovered one quality that I have found only in the writers I most respect: humility.”

In praise of her work as an interviewer, Leslie McGrath, a poet from Stonington, Connecticut, said, “Through Cavalieri I found my model for a deft and intelligent literary interview. Every one of the 2,500 poets she has interviewed over the last thirty-five years has had occasion to think anew about their own work and to place themselves within the larger historical context of American poetry.”

The award, named after George Garrett, honors his services to fellow writers throughout his lifetime as a teacher, mentor, editor, friend, board member, and overall good-spirited person. Garrett, for years, edited Intro, an annual anthology of work by emerging writers; he served as one of the founding members of the AWP Board of Directors; he taught creative writing and literature for over forty years; and he authored over thirty books.

“Garrett was an inspiration to thousands of writers, editors, and teachers,” said Heller. “The George Garrett Award is, quite properly, the highest honor this organization bestows.”

The award includes a $2,000 honorarium, a lifetime membership to AWP, and travel, accommodations, and registration at the AWP Annual Conference, where the award is publicly announced and conferred. Nominations are accepted each year from August 1 through September 15.

Please see our website for more information:

Previous Story:
Very Good News for Independent Bookstores
April 5, 2013
Next Story:
Marie Ponsot Wins Ruth Lilly Prize
April 5, 2013

No Comments