Ms. Margo Taft Stever

New York, United States

Member Since: 04/22/2013


In 2019, Margo Taft Stever's, Cracked Piano, was published by CavanKerry Press and her chapbook, Ghost Moose, was published by Kattywompus Press. Cracked Piano was Shortlisted and Received Honorable Mention for the 2021 Eric Hoffer Grand Prize. Her four previous poetry collections include The Lunatic Ball, 2015; The Hudson Line, 2012; Frozen Spring, 2002, Mid-List Press First Series Award for Poetry; and Reading the Night Sky (Introduction by Denise Levertov), winner of the 1996 Riverstone Poetry Chapbook Competition. She is the founder of the Hudson Valley Writers Center ( and the founding coeditor of the Slapering Hol Press. Her poems have appeared in Verse Daily, Salamander, Prairie Schooner, Blackbird, upstreet, Webster Review, New England Review, Connecticut Review, Poet Lore, West Branch, Seattle Review, The Cincinnati Review, Rattapallax, and elsewhere. Her poems also appear in numerous anthologies including Women Write Resistance; Cadence of Hooves; Dire Elegies; Chance of a Ghost; The Breath of Parted Lips, Volume II, and No More Masks. She has edited Imperiled Landscapes, Endangered Legends (Rizzoli International Publications) and Voices from the River (Slapering Hol Press). Her articles, essays, and book reviews have appeared in Valley Voices, Connecticut Review, Minnesota Review, Rain Taxi Review, Home Planet News, New Delta Review, Calyx, Poets & Writers, and elsewhere. Her photographs appear in many books and periodicals, including the cover of Denise Levertov’s Relearning the Alphabet. She created the photo exhibition, "Looking East" ( and co-authored William  Howard Taft and the 1905 U.S. Diplomatic Mission to Asia, Zhejiang University Press, 2012. Ms. Stever has read her poetry at numerous locations, including the Troubadour Cafe, London; Geraldine Dodge Poetry Festival, New Jersey; the Blacksmith House, Massachusetts; and the Shanghai International Studies University, Shanghai. As 2021 Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Bioethics Department of Case Western Reserve School of Medicine, she teaches a workshop on poetry and bioethics. She also teaches poetry to at risk adolescents at Children's Village in Dobbs Ferry, New York. 


Twitter Username: @margotaftstever


  • Ghost Moose , Kattywompus Press (February 5, 2019)
  • Cracled Piano , CavanKerry Press (April 4, 2019)


  • Honorable Mention and Shortlisted, Eric Hoffer Book Award(2021)


  • Master of Fine Arts in Poetry from Sarah Lawrence College (May 1988)

Genres of Interest