Minnesota Northwoods Writers Conference

Bemidji, Minnesota, United States

Jun 17 - Jun 23, 2019


TUITION / COST:$650 Early Bird and $750 thereafter; $150 Auditor Option
http://northwoodswriters.org/apply/ (apply by February 20, 2019)

CONTACT: Mathew Hawthorne - Coordinator
PHONE: (218) 755-2851
EMAIL: writersconference@bemidjistate.edu
WEBSITE: http://northwoodswriters.org/

Every summer in late June, writers at every stage of development gather on the beautiful shores of Lake Bemidji for an enlivening week of literary activity with award-wining faculty – including Pulitzer-prize winners and National Book Award winners – who are also known for their success in teaching.

An intensive weeklong workshop in an intimate lakeside environment is at the core of the Minnesota Northwoods Writers Conference. MNWC participants sign up for a workshop led by one faculty member for the span of the conference so that they can inhabit an intimate writing community that fosters a special learning opportunity.

According to Camille Dungy, “the level of engagement the Northwoods Conference allows faculty to have with participants means that we can accomplish an immense amount of quality instruction in a short time. I've encountered some of the best crops of conference participants I've had the pleasure of working with anywhere.”

Conference fee includes an intensive workshop limited to 12 participants, daily craft talks, editor and publishing talks, evening reading series, five conference meals, and lakeside events. Manuscript consultations are available. Several scholarships are offered as well as an affordable Auditor Option.

Newly-remodeled and air-conditioned housing is extremely affordable and conveniently located near conference events and Diamond Point Park on beautiful Lake Bemidji. Recreational opportunities include biking, canoeing, kayaking, sailing, fishing, and the Rec Center at Bemidji State University. Visit the Headwaters of the Mississippi or Lake Bemidji State Park.

Past faculty include Steve Almond, Elizabeth Bradfield, Jericho Brown, Rebecca Brown, Ron Carlson, Judith Ortiz Cofer, Matt de la Peña, Alison Hawthorne Deming, Mark Doty, Natalie Diaz, Rikki Ducornet, Camille Dungy, Danielle Evans, Terrance Hayes, David Gessner, Joy Harjo, Janice N. Harrington, Robin Hemley, Edward Hirsch, Ravi Howard, LeAnne Howe, David Jauss, Mat Johnson, Wayne Johnson, Sheri Joseph, Joan Naviyuk Kane, Lorraine Lopez, Bret Lott, Wayne Miller, Donna Masini, Judson Mitcham, Ander Monson, Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Sharon Olds, Jay Parini, Paisley Rekdal, Tim Seibles, Sue Silverman, Tracy K. Smith, Joni Tevis, Natasha Trethewey, Rich Wallace, Nancy Willard, and Kevin Young.


Featured Writers Include:

Camille Dungy (Poetry)

Ada Limón (Poetry)

Aimee Nezhukumatathil (Hybrid Poetry & Prose)

Peter Orner (Fiction)

Dustin Parsons (Creative Nonfiction)

Terrance Hayes is our Distinguished Visiting Writer!


Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction


Bemidji State University
1500 Birchmont Drive #4
Minnesota, United States

Minnesota Northwoods Writers Conference

"Fantastic - one of the best conferences in the country!" Aimee Nezhukumatathil

The Minnesota Northwoods Writers Conference thanks our generous donors and partners who help to keep the cost of a conference of this caliber affordable and within the reach of our wonderful constituency of engaged writers. This activity is also made possible in part by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.