Kay Snow Writing Contest

Portland, Oregon, United States



The purpose of this annual writing contest, named in honor of Willamette Writer's founder, Kay Snow, is to help writers reach professional goals in writing in a broad array of categories and to encourage student writers.

Winning entries in each of the six categories of fiction, nonfiction, YA/MG, poetry, screenplay, and college student are awarded:

- First prize: $100 and one day admission to the Willamette Writers Conference

- Second prize: $25 and one day admission to the Willamette Writers Conference

- Third prize: $50

Winning entries in each of the three grade divisions of the student category are awarded:

- First prize: $50

- Second prize: $20

- Third prize: $10

Winners of the Kay Snow contest will be honored at the annual Willamette Writers Conference.

Conference to discuss their screenplays.


Featured Writers Include:

Paulann Petersen

Roland Smith

Elizabeth Lyon


Poetry, Fiction, Creative nonfiction, Screenwriting, Children's literature


5331 SW Macadam Ave., Suite 258, PMB 215
Oregon, United States

Willamette Writers

Writers at all levels come to Willamette Writers to connect with their communities, develop their craft, and advance their careers.

Willamette Writers is the largest writers' organization in Oregon and one of the largest writers' organizations in the United States. It is a non-profit, tax-exempt Oregon corporation led by volunteers. Elected officials and directors administer an active program of monthly meetings, special seminars, workshops and conferences.

Willamette Writers produces an annual conference in August that offers over 70 workshops and brings literary agents, editors, and Hollywood producers to Portland to meet writers.

Other Willamette Writers programs include: Young Willamette Writers and Kay Snow writing contest.