Academy of American Poets Announces Annual Prize Recipients

September 6, 2019

Academy of American Poets American Poets Prizes

The Academy of American Poets announced this year’s recipients of its annual awards in a recent press release. Their awards are among the most valuable and prestigious in the United States, and they seek to recognize emerging as well as established poets.

Rita Dove, the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of ten books, was awarded the Wallace Stevens Award, which is given to a poet of “outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry.” Voted on by the Board of Chancellors, Dove will receive $100,000.

Ilya Kaminsky received the Academy of American Poets Fellowship, which “recognizes distinguished poetic achievement.” Kaminsky’s most recent book is Deaf Republic.

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, which “recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year,” was awarded to Kyle Dargan for Anagnorisis, a book that judge Patricia Smith describes as a “blistering and vital volume.”

Aditi Machado’s Emporium was awarded the James Laughlin Award, which recognizes “a second book of poetry forthcoming in the next calendar year.” Described by the judges as “a tour of the development of mercantilism that gradually and deftly builds up into a critique of capitalism and its plundering,” Emporium will be released by Nightboat Books in 2020.

The Ambroggio Prize for “a book-length poetry manuscript originally written in Spanish” was given to Gloria Muñoz’s Danzsirley/Dawn’s Early, while the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award for a published translation “that demonstrates literary excellence” was given to Clare Cavanagh’s translation of Asymmetry by Adam Zagajewski. In addition, Will Schutt received the Raiziss/de Palchi Fellowship for his translation of Fabio Pusterla’s work, Jonathan Teklit was awarded the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award for his poem “Black Mythology,” and, earlier this year, Leah Naomi Green won the Walt Whitman Award for her first collection The More Extravagant Feast.


Image Credit: Academy of American Poets

Previous Story:
Moveable Type: Futurepoem Books
September 4, 2019
Next Story:
Booker Prize Finalists Announced
September 13, 2019

No Comments