Publishing Triangle Announces 2018 Awards Finalists

March 13, 2019

Book covers of the finalist books.

The Publishing Triangle, an association that supports books published by LGBTQ authors or with related themes, has announced the finalists for its annual awards across all genres.

Finalists for the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry includes Brynne Rebele-Henry for Autobiography of a Wound, which also won AWP’s Donald Hall Prize in 2017, as well as Alicia Mountain for High Ground Coward, Lisa Dordal for Mosaic of the Dark, and Margaree Little for Rest. For the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry, the finalists are Marcelo Hernandez Castillo, Blas Falconer, Timothy Lui, and Hieu Minh Nguyen. And, the finalists for the Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature include Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg, Holy Wild by Gwen Benaway, Some Animal by Ely Shipley, and The Soul of the Stranger by Joy Ladin.

Jaime Manrique, the Colombian-born poet, novelist, essayist, and translator, won the Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement, while the poet Julian Randall, author of the Cave Canem Poetry Prize-winning collection Refuse, won the Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award.

For a full list of finalists, including the finalists for the nonfiction and fiction awards, please visit the Publishing Triangle’s website. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on April 25, 2019 at the New School in Manhattan.


Image Credits: University of Pittsburg Press, University of Iowa Press, Black Lawrence Press, Four Way Books.

Next Story:
W. S. Merwin, 1927—2019
March 18, 2019

No Comments