Longlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction Announced

March 7, 2019

Women's Prize for Fiction 2019 logoOn Monday, March 4, the Women’s Prize for Fiction announced the fifteen writers selected as finalists for the £30,000 award. Established in 1996, the then-named Orange Prize for Fiction was created to address the notable lack of women’s representation in the prestigious Booker Prize. It was renamed the Bailey’s Women’s Prize in 2014, and then the Women’s Prize for Fiction in 2018.

Among the finalists are authors Tayari Jones, Sarah Moss, and Akwaeke Emezi, a nonbinary trans writer whose nomination has led to a conversation about gender identity within the literary awards landscape. Last year’s list included the acclaimed novel Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward, and When I Hit You: Or, A Portrait of the Writer as a Young Wife by Meena Kandasamy. The winner of the 2018 award was Kamila Shamsie’s Home Fire.

The shortlist will be announced on April 29, and a winner selected on June 5. Here is the full longlist:

Pat Barker - The Silence of the Girls
Yvonee Battle-Felton - Remembered
Oyinkan Braithwaite - My Sister, the Serial Killer
Melissa Broder - The Pisces
Anna Burns - Milkman
Akwaeke Emezi - Freshwater
Diana Evans - Ordinary People
Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott - Swan Song
Tayari Jones - An American Marriage
Lillian Li - Number One Chinese Restaurant
Sophie van Llewyn - Bottled Goods
Valeria Luiselli - Lost Children Archive
Bernice L. McFadden - Praise Song for the Butterflies
Madeline Miller - Circe
Sarah Moss - Ghost Wall
Sally Rooney - Normal People


Image Credit: Women’s Prize for Fiction

Previous Story:
Martin & Nguyen Win Tufts Awards
March 1, 2019
Next Story:
A Universal Commitment: Human Dignity
March 7, 2019

No Comments