Academy of American Poets Announces Annual Awards

September 6, 2018

Academy of American Poets

On August 28, 2018, the Academy of American Poets announced the recipients of its annual American Poets Prizes, which awards over $200,000 to emerging and established poets.

The winners include Sonia Sanchez, who received the Wallace Stevens Award, which recognizes a poet’s outstanding and proven mastery. Established in 1994, the Wallace Stevens Award is determined by a majority vote of the Academy’s Board of Chancellors. Past recipients include Adrienne Rich, Louise Glück and Frank Bidart.

Martín Espada received the Academy of American Poets Fellowship, which recognizes distinguished achievement in the art of poetry. Determined by a majority vote of the Academy’s Board of Chancellors, the Fellowship carries a stipend of $25,000 and a residency at T.S. Eliot’s summer home in Gloucester, Massachusetts. Previous awardees include Tracy K. Smith, Carl Phillips, and Claudia Rankine.

In addition, Craig Morgan Teicher’s collection The Trembling Answers was awarded the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, which recognizes the most outstanding poetry book published in the previous year. Night Angler by Geffrey Davis was awarded the James Laughlin Award, which recognizes a second book of poetry to be published in the forthcoming year.

Raquel Salas Rivera’s x/ex/exis (poemas para la nación) (poems for the nation) received the Ambroggio Prize, which is given to a poetry manuscript originally written in Spanish and with an English translation. David Larsen’s translation of Names of the Lion by Ibn Khalawayh won the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award. Anthony Molino’s translation of The Diary of Kasper Hauser by Paolo Febbraro won the Raiziss/De Palchi Book Prize, which recognizes an outstanding translation of a significant work of modern Italian poetry. John Bosworth won the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award, which recognizes poets who are twenty-three years old or younger.

Finally, earlier this year, the Academy announced that Emily Skaja received the Walt Whitman Award for her collection BRUTE, which will be published by Graywolf Press next year.

Previous Story:
Online Harassment Field Manual
August 30, 2018

No Comments