AWP Award Series Winner Carol Zoref Wins 2017 National Jewish Book Award

January 11, 2018

Cover of Barren IslandCarol Zoref’s 2015 AWP Prize for the Novel–winner Barren Island has also won the Debut Fiction Award from the Jewish Book Council. Late last year, Barren Island was also longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction.

“It’s gratifying that this novel, which first won recognition from the AWP,” said Zoref, “has since been embraced by the National Book Awards and the National Jewish Book Awards. Each honor is unique and, therefore, wonderful in its own way yet equally thrilling.”

The finalists for the award were What to Do About the Solomons by Bethany Ball and Viva, Rose! by Susan Krawitz. Awards were also given in several other categories. See the winners and finalists over at the Jewish Book Council website. The 2017 winners will be honored on March 6, 2018 at the 67th Annual National Jewish Book Awards dinner and ceremony to be held at the Prince George Ballroom in Manhattan.

Previous Story:
David McKain, 1937–2017
January 5, 2018

No Comments