National Book Award Winners and NEA Grants for Prose Writers and Translators

November 17, 2017

The National Book Award Winners were announced in a ceremony on Wednesday, November 15, in New York, following a reading by the finalists the night before. The winners are:

Fiction: Jesmyn Ward, Sing, Unburied, Sing
Nonfiction: Masha Gessen, The Future Is History: How Totalitarianism Reclaimed Russia
Poetry: Frank Bidart, Half-light: Collected Poems, 1965–2016
Young People’s Literature: Robin Benway, Far from the Tree

The National Book Foundation also honored Annie Proulx with the 2017 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, and Richard Robinson with the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community.


The National Endowment for the Arts announced the recipients of their annual Creative Writing Fellowships. This year, the honorees were prose writers, fiction and nonfiction. Thirty-six writers were awarded fellowships of $25,000, and the full list can be read on the NEA’s website.

The NEA also released the winners of its Literary Translation Fellowships. Twenty-two translators will receive $12,500 or $25,000 for their work. A full list of the awardees and their projects can be found on the NEA website.



Next Story:
Michelle Boisseau, 1955–2017
November 20, 2017

No Comments