October 7, 2016

The Academy of American Poets Awards:

Wallace Stevens Award. $100,000. Sharon Olds.

Fellowship for “distinguished poetic achievement.” $25,000. Natasha Trethewey.

The Lenore Marshall Prize. $25,000. Lynn Emmanuel for The Nerve of It: Poems New and Selected.

The James Laughlin Prize. $5,000 plus a week’s residency at the Betsy Hotel in Miami. Mary Hickman for Rayfish.

The Raiziss/De Palchi Book Prize. $10,000. Stephen Sartarelli for his translation of The Selected Poetry of Pier Paolo Pasolini.

The Harold Morton Landon Translation Award. $1,000. Ron Padgett for Zone: Selected Poems by Guillaume Apollinaire.

The Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award. $1,000. Donte Collins for his poem “what the dead know by heart.”

Rona Jaffe Writers’ Award. $30,000 each winner. Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Vanegas, Danielle Geller, Jamey Hatley, Ladee Hubbard, Airea D. Matthews, and Asako Serizawa.

Glimmer Train May/June Short Story Award for New Writers:

First place: Erin Rose Belair. $2,500 for “Rare Items of the Universe.” Publication in Issue 100 of Glimmer Train Stories.

Second place: Julia Phillips. $700 for “Nadia.” Publication.

Third place: Angelo So. $700 for “The Water in our Hearts Has Fallen.” Publication.

Previous Story:
Moveable Type: Headmistress Press
October 7, 2016
Next Story:
AWP Forms New Committee on Inclusion
October 10, 2016

No Comments