National Book Award Finalists Include Rita Dove, Solmaz Sharif, Colson Whitehead, and Viet Thanh Nguyen

October 7, 2016

The National Book Foundation has announced its twenty-two finalists for fiction, nonfiction, young people’s literature, and poetry. Among the finalists are two Pulitzer Prize winners, two previous National Book Award winners, and a poet whose book is her first.

The finalists for fiction include Chris Bachelder for The Throwback Special; Paulette Jiles for News of the World; Karan Mahajan for The Association of Small Bombs; Colson Whitehead for The Underground Railroad; and Jacqueline Woodson for Another Brooklyn.

The finalists for nonfiction include Arlie Russell Hochschild for Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right; Ibram X. Kendi for Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America; Viet Thanh Nguyen for Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War; Andrés Reséndez for The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America; and Heather Ann Thompson for Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy.

The finalists for young people’s literature include Kate DiCamillo for Raymie Nightingale; John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell for March: Book Three; Grace Lin for When the Sea Turned to Silver; Jason Reynolds for Ghost; and Nicola Yoon for The Sun Is Also a Star.

The finalists for poetry include Daniel Borzutzky for The Performance of Becoming Human; Rita Dove for Collected Poems 1974–2004; Peter Gizzi for Archeophonics; Jay Hopler for The Abridged History of Rainfall; and Solmaz Sharif for Look.

The winners will be announced on November 16 at a gala in New York. The Literarian Award for “outstanding service to literature” will go to Cave Canem, a nonprofit that offers various programs to African American poets and is a literary partner to AWP.

Watch the official announcement posted at the New Yorker.

Next Story:
Moveable Type: Headmistress Press
October 7, 2016

No Comments